psyic
New Member
Posts: 20
|
Post by psyic on Nov 7, 2005 12:16:40 GMT -5
It would most likely. All i'm really looking at doing it converting a ACTools script that I have working to a lunar script just to get it to work, then add in some text overlays to spiff it up a bit.
By the by, what do you mean by DPos?
|
|
petar113507
Full Member
Damn Straight. I Am the king of waffelagia.
Posts: 166
|
Post by petar113507 on Nov 7, 2005 15:24:22 GMT -5
DPos= Diamond Positioning system
It's something that I thought of, and the Positioning system actually sets up to be a little diamond. It's just prettymuch an equasion from algebra, stating a range, but you use your current Pos as a variable.
It's not all too hard, but I fuigure when you lock this up with keystrokes and while statements it comes up to be pretty darn accurate for your Pos. It requires research of the positions you want to go to, but aside from that I think that if I made a bunch of navigational bots, I could prettymuch get anywhere by chocobo, instead of me having to go to jeuno by bloodport... I'm using this idea of mine to make travel quite simple.
|
|
psyic
New Member
Posts: 20
|
Post by psyic on Nov 7, 2005 19:00:20 GMT -5
Well, first off, level blm 75 blm here, and all my melee friends lothe me for having warp XD Ahem... next off, though I do like the idea, it seems a little sketchy. First off, a good nav script will need a method to input user defined X,Y points. The ACTools script I wrote did this by watching the global keys for like ctrl-F12 for a waypoint, then when all was said and done, it would save it all to a file. The way you make it sound, you would make a nav bot specifically to go from point A -> B (with, of course a bunch of little places here and there) for a number of different places. This is just what it sounds like, please correct me if i'm wrong. Secondly, if the bot over shoots the nav'ing a tad bit, from what you're saying, will it need to completely turn around (assuming it's beyond the range)? Thirdly, Are you dealing with each plane independant of eachother? Example, will the bot only be able to move the character from point A -> B along the X or Y axis? this is so high inefficent i'm sure you're not, but just want to make sure
|
|
|
Post by Jubei on Nov 7, 2005 19:23:23 GMT -5
|
|
petar113507
Full Member
Damn Straight. I Am the king of waffelagia.
Posts: 166
|
Post by petar113507 on Nov 7, 2005 20:52:57 GMT -5
Gaa, well I assume this script will be for those who have warp. and have their homepoint close to where they started. If the Requirements for the WHile statement is not met, then I will proceed to cut down to the script section where I can warp back. (As far As I know, I've put in X and Y co-ordiantes, and I even took screenshots of them, just for a good measure. I'll be working on this, I just got the saurbarta section done.) I don't know if there is an easier way, but Right now I'm not testing out my full blown Idea, I'm moving and checking the X, Y Co-ordinates. The full system.. I have to get another Idea to see what I can use it for. My friends are usually good at assigning the Idea to the task. I'm just stuck with the work section of it. I'm aware the Idea I have for movement now is very innefficent. But I think for a primitive Idea, it'd be pretty cool to work on homework, or take a shower while you know your character moves to jeuno. Or wherever It will go to in the near future. As I progress I'm sure I will improve the system to the Dpos, I Initally envisioned. But I think it's better to have other people ring the bell to tell me how I could improve... *Hint* --- Oh si~ and thanks for that link. It shed a little light on the project I'm, working with. A little Idea for the stuff ahead. -- Another edit: As far as the first script I;m writing, it will be pretty simple. A connect the dots navigaton bot. When I get into Dpos I think that;ll be pretty complex., and will require more EXP than I have right now in LUa
|
|
psyic
New Member
Posts: 20
|
Post by psyic on Nov 7, 2005 22:03:57 GMT -5
My script file works of this theory x = XCordofNextNavPoint - PlayerXPos y = YCordofNextNavPoint - PlayerYPos d = sqrt(x^2 + y^2)
That gives you the distance from you and the next point (of which there could well be many.) Then... heading = ArcTan(y / x) * (180/pi)
That will return a bearing to the next point. Just start messing with those two ideas, then get it so that "d" and "heading" are within a certain threshhold or tolerance number, and you're set. The math gets a bit more brutal, and I can give more tips if you want, but for now... I'm taking a break from FF, so no more messing with Lunar scripts for me for a while
|
|
petar113507
Full Member
Damn Straight. I Am the king of waffelagia.
Posts: 166
|
Post by petar113507 on Nov 8, 2005 14:45:28 GMT -5
That sounds to be pretty kickass.
What if you could check your Pos with the thing I thought of.
Dpos is based of of you getting pre-destined points.
And Providing you had a knowlege of the In game points... Your Idea sounds really good. The only Thing I could think of to make it better, which sounds a little complex, probally something I wouldnt be into testing, but anywho:
What if you have a central point, envision this on a 2D Plot.
X1 = Central Point - 10 X2=Central Point + 10
(Sets up quite a wide range, but this is for example)
If you set up a check system, in the range equasion I implied before
X1 < Your Pos < X2
.... Anywho, I wouldnt wanna test this, the math would get too zany for my level of knowlege.
|
|
psyic
New Member
Posts: 20
|
Post by psyic on Nov 8, 2005 18:02:11 GMT -5
Well, that would be ok for another layer of making sure the user is in the right place (Incase, you know, there is lag or something.) But i'm not too sure about how that would be useful for actual movement. I suppose I would need to see some code in action to understand further.
|
|
|
Post by sixtogus on Feb 9, 2006 9:21:47 GMT -5
Hello Again guys..
One quick question here. If you are a BST and you want to make a script that autocharms your pet. how do I identify my pet from another one with same name ?
example: My pet is a Sand Here and im currently figthing a Sand Hare. In the middle of the battle my pet uncharms or dies. how do i make a diference from my Pet and the other mob so my script dosent charm the Attaking Mob.
Is there a way to make a diference between Mobs with the same name ?
Thank you for your help guys.
|
|