sdphantom
Full Member
Savior and Destroyer
Posts: 230
|
Post by sdphantom on Mar 1, 2006 8:00:30 GMT -5
I'm currently working on a site for Lunar that will eventually replace the aging documentation. I'm planning it to function like the PHP Quick Reference. All it does currently is provide a link to these forums.
|
|
gaz
New Member
Posts: 27
|
Post by gaz on Mar 1, 2006 9:37:23 GMT -5
If you need any help then let me know, I've done abit of work with PHP. Although, i imagine your pretty good with PHP Will you store the functions in an SQL database?
|
|
Sufo
New Member
Extreme Web Designer and Scripter
Posts: 48
|
Post by Sufo on Mar 1, 2006 12:36:17 GMT -5
I made a website a while back and showed it to Tiny and he wasnt interested in having a website.
|
|
|
Post by TinyTerror on Mar 1, 2006 15:23:10 GMT -5
It's not that I don't want a website, I just don't really care all that much about it. SDPhantom's site will in theory parse lunar and produce docs, so it is good.
|
|
sdphantom
Full Member
Savior and Destroyer
Posts: 230
|
Post by sdphantom on Mar 1, 2006 17:02:05 GMT -5
Ya, the functions are in a MySQL database. I'll have an auto-detection script for Lunar that scans through all the registered functions and writes them to a file that would be manually uploaded to a PHP script on the server where it'll be parsed and add any new functions and register any unlisted functions as discontinued.
|
|
|
Post by TinyTerror on Mar 1, 2006 17:57:11 GMT -5
Question. Does this method you are using tell if there are parameters for the functions?
|
|
sdphantom
Full Member
Savior and Destroyer
Posts: 230
|
Post by sdphantom on Mar 1, 2006 19:51:29 GMT -5
Question. Does this method you are using tell if there are parameters for the functions? Not really. It only goes through the names in the _G table and asks Lua what type each registered name is. If it's a function, the name is recorded in a file. The script is planned to recurse through all tables, meaning, it'll go through all the Lunar libraries as well. We'll have to define the parameters ourselves. I'll have to look at the debug.getinfo() function more. Maybe I can get some info from that, but as far as I know, there isn't any other way.
|
|
|
Post by TinyTerror on Mar 2, 2006 0:26:52 GMT -5
Set it up in a wiki and I'll have at it. Part of the problem with the current doc is that its a pain to update.
|
|
sdphantom
Full Member
Savior and Destroyer
Posts: 230
|
Post by sdphantom on Mar 2, 2006 2:13:48 GMT -5
Set it up in a wiki and I'll have at it. Part of the problem with the current doc is that its a pain to update. That was the plan for the other half of the project. To setup a system that would handle user input to explain what the function does, arguements, and what is returned.
|
|
gaz
New Member
Posts: 27
|
Post by gaz on Mar 2, 2006 4:22:28 GMT -5
Get some webspace with MySQL suport, then make a simple CMS (content management system) for updating function names and descriptions via the website. Then you can make up the list using data from the SQL code. Heres how I populate my event list from my database. I think you can make a list of functions in much the same way I have a list of linkshell events (I use the same prinicple for my news section too). <? include("config.php");
$today_day = date("d"); $today_month = date("m"); $today_year = date("Y");
$query="SELECT * FROM $table WHERE (year >= $today_year) AND (month >= $today_month) ORDER BY year, month, day "; $result=mysql_query($query); $num=mysql_numrows($result);
$i=0; while ($i < $num) { $day=mysql_result($result,$i,"day"); $month=mysql_result($result,$i,"month"); $year=mysql_result($result,$i,"year"); $thing=mysql_result($result,$i,"thing"); $done=mysql_result($result,$i,"done"); $day = sprintf("%02.0f", $day);
if ($day <= $today_day AND $month == $today_month AND $year >= $today_year){ if ($day == $today_day){ ?> <br><b><?=$day?>/<?=$month?>/<?=$year?> - <?=$thing?></b> <? } } else { ?> <br><?=$day?>/<?=$month?>/<?=$year?> - <?=$thing?> <? } ++$i; } ?>
This simply cycles through the table populating the list with events >= today. If they are = today it makes them bold. If you need a hand with a CMS let me know, its relativly simple but i didnt want to post it cos it has alot of security mixed into it and therefore is pretty long winded. hehe ^^ If you already know all this then sorry, but let me know if you need anything. I'd be glad to lend a hand where I can.
|
|
sdphantom
Full Member
Savior and Destroyer
Posts: 230
|
Post by sdphantom on Mar 2, 2006 9:53:23 GMT -5
Get some webspace with MySQL suport, then make a simple CMS (content management system) for updating function names and descriptions via the website. Hint: Look at sig (Webmaster Zytre of PhantomWeb.org) and on the site itself: Built by Zytre of Pretty much every web host you pay for has MySQL on it. I just made another subdomain off the domain I bought. Then you can make up the list using data from the SQL code. ... If you need a hand with a CMS let me know, its relativly simple but i didnt want to post it cos it has alot of security mixed into it and therefore is pretty long winded. hehe ^^ I pretty much have everything covered plus my own test server on my gaming machine. I have a SQL script I built from scratch on one of my earlier projects that I'll be using. If you already know all this then sorry, but let me know if you need anything. I'd be glad to lend a hand where I can. Sorry if I seem rude in my responses, but it is quite difficult when your knowledge is questioned. As far as I can see, I put proof that I'm not an amateur in my sig, saying I'm a webmaster of a whole domain that also contains links to some projects I'm working on. Probably a mistake on my part to put up a "Coming soon" page and expect people to not judge it as a finnished product. Thanks for the offer, but I have this code handled.
|
|
gaz
New Member
Posts: 27
|
Post by gaz on Mar 2, 2006 10:52:05 GMT -5
Cool no problem; I've got my own domain too . Only really use it for my Linkshell website but I am quite good with web design and have received many compliments about my site. I would be willing to help with site design and smooth navigation if you like. Take a look into limbo ( Example), even if you don’t want to use it because you like using your own code (like me) it's still pretty good for code examples, and you can add your own modules. ^^ (limbo is mambo lite btw) Anyways, if you don’t want any help that’s cool, good luck! ^^
|
|
|
Post by TinyTerror on Mar 2, 2006 20:24:58 GMT -5
Im actually pretty excited about the wiki. Its an ideal format for the docs. And I can hit it from work.
|
|
sdphantom
Full Member
Savior and Destroyer
Posts: 230
|
Post by sdphantom on Mar 3, 2006 19:02:41 GMT -5
Im actually pretty excited about the wiki. Its an ideal format for the docs. And I can hit it from work. I figured it would be the best way to go. If you guys want to check out FFStat, it's a status sig generator i made from scratch for an LS site that I'm still working on. It stores job, craft, and mission information and generates a sig image much like the one im my own sig.
|
|
sdphantom
Full Member
Savior and Destroyer
Posts: 230
|
Post by sdphantom on Mar 3, 2006 19:43:41 GMT -5
Cool no problem; I've got my own domain too . Only really use it for my Linkshell website ... I did buisness with AriaDomain.com for one of those $7 per year deals. It's true what they say, you get what you paid for. They had all the capabilities everyone else has, but their hosting servers were down almost all the time and the Customer Support techs did absolutely nothing when I screwed up the domain registration by locking it. They didn't even respond to my emails. After about a month of fighting with their Customer Support department, I left AriaDomain.com and went to BlueHost.com. I pay the usual rate, but I haven't had any trouble with the service so far. $200+ is a big dent in my checking account for a 2-year contract, but I'm glad it works decent enough. I'm using all I can, even subdomains for whatever web projects I take on and the MySQL along with several types of CGI support (I use PHP exclusively) is like heaven for me, lol. Take a look into limbo, even if you don’t want to use it because you like using your own code (like me) ... you can add your own modules. I'm fine, thx. ^^ Most of the sites I make now are programed for modules to be added in. The FFStat site I made was actually a module off an LS site I'm still working on. The entire thing is actually the profile section of the LS site. The starting page was origionally made to store real-life information of each member. I erased everything and just left the character list there. The character edit page is completely intact, the only thing changed is the page it returns to after submitting.
|
|